Sunday, May 8, 2011
The Mighty Thor
Yesterday I went to see Thor in 3D. This was my first 3D movie and I'll express my thoughts on that at the end of the post. First, I'll talk about the movie itself.
I was cautiously optimistic going into this movie. The guys at Here Be Geeks thought that it was pretty good, but they had also thought Sucker Punch wasn't that bad (and it was). The movie turned out to be everything one could hope for from a super hero movie. I thought it was almost as good as Iron Man. Thor has high production value, and great special effects. The best part of the special effects was that they were not the focus of the movie. The effects were used to enhance the story and make the the setting of the story seem more "real".
The story wasn't Oscar worthy, but it was logical and moved along smoothly. The story wasn't bad by any means, and was good enough for me not to notice anything bad about it during the movie or upon reflection afterwards. The acting was actually very good and the script didn't have the actors spouting cheesy or tired dialogue throughout the movie. Natalie Portman was cute as ever and Chris Hemsworth as Thor was acceptable. On a side note, the dude is a beast. This guy is built like a brick shithouse. If you are looking to go to this movie and have some convincing to do with your honey, show her some pics of this dude and you'll have a lot more luck.
I would definitely recommend this movie to any nerd and I think most people that like a good summer blockbuster would enjoy Thor.
As for the 3D experience, I found it extremely distracting for the first 15-20 minutes. I kept paying attention to the backgrounds and superfluous details because they were either beautifully rendered in 3D or looked so cool! After the adjustment period, I noticed the 3D effect less and less as the movie went on unless it was something that was really amazing.
Given this, I don't really see the need to pay an extra $4 for an effect that my brain normalized within 20 minutes and distracted me from the movie before that. I think 3D is a gimmick that really only costs movie goers more money without giving them a better movie going experience.
Labels:
Movies
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)



No comments:
Post a Comment